Book Recommendations for Calculus & Algebra for Economics Students

In summary, the speaker is asking for recommendations for books in Calculus and Algebra as they feel their Mathematics skills are lacking. They are studying Economics and plan to study Finance and Accounting next year. They are looking for books that start from the basics and have listed some options they found on Amazon. One person suggests using an older edition of Stewart's Calculus with a solutions manual, while another recommends (Advanced) Modern Engineering Mathematics by Glyn James.
1+1=3
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone can recommend me some good books in Calculus and Algebra. My Mathematics is poor in my opinion and i feel i need to study it more. I am studying Economics, and plan to study Finance and Accounting next year. I am looking for books that start from the basics and don't assume prior mathematical knowledge.

I have found the following books on Amazon, has anyone used these books?

Harshbarger-Mathematical Applications for the Management
Lial-Mathematics with Applications
Stewart-Calculus (5th Ed)
Lay-Linear Algebra and its Applications
Anton-Elementary Linear Algebra Applications
Hughes-Hallett-Calculus, Single & Multivariable (4th Ed)

Thankyou.

Physics news on Phys.org
One of the older editions of stewarts book along with a solutions manual should suffice for Calculus. Goodluck.

I like (Advanced) Modern Engineering Mathematics by Glyn James.

FAQ: Book Recommendations for Calculus & Algebra for Economics Students

1. What are some good books for learning Calculus and Algebra for economics?

Some recommended books for learning Calculus and Algebra for economics students are "Calculus: Early Transcendentals" by James Stewart, "Linear Algebra and Its Applications" by David C. Lay, and "Mathematics for Economists" by Simon and Blume.

2. Are there any books specifically tailored for economics students?