Preparing for Grad School: Exploring EE, Physics & Quantum Mechanics

In summary, the speaker is a senior undergraduate majoring in Electrical Engineering and has taken courses in Quantum Mechanics from the Physics department. They are interested in multiple areas including electronic circuits, device physics, and high energy physics and intend to pursue a PhD in Physics. They have questions about the influence of research experiences on grad school admissions and the possibility of combining experimental circuit design and theoretical physics in their future work. They are proficient in programming languages and have not yet taken the GRE.
maverick280857
From EE to Applied Physics...grad school app, undergraduate courses, no research

Hi,

I'm a senior undergraduate majoring in Electrical Engineering with a CGPA of 3.84/4.0 (normalized to a scale of 4 -- at my college its on a scale of 10). I'll be entering my final year in a few weeks from now. Apart from the core and professional EE courses, I have taken two courses in Quantum Mechanics from the Physics department, and am presently registered to take Quantum Field Theory and Relativity as electives next semester. I have the necessary background (more or less) in classical mechanics and electrodynamics, PDEs, tensor manipulations, Fourier Transforms, etc.

Unfortunately, I don't have "A" specific area interest. I am interested in several things, most notably electronic circuits, device physics, and high energy physics. I know all these are very different areas and people usually get to work in one of these fields. I intend to pursue a PhD in Physics (or Applied Physics or even EE) with some hopes of working in one of these fields. My interest in physics is not a passing interest, but I apart from courses and self-reading I haven't had any "research" exposure. I do not have an REU exposure in physics and my summer projects have been very basic.

I have several questions, but for the time being, I want to know