Why Do Engineering Associations and Registries Exist?

• Thread starter dijkarte
  • Start date
  • Tags
    cpu Home
In summary, self-taught software developers are possible, but they are not as common as those with degrees in engineering.
dijkarte
Is it possible for someone to learn electrical engineering and work in the industry? How common is this? I mean coming from a the software industry I know that there are many including innovative ones are self-taught and have no degrees. Does this apply to engineering as well? How would it be different?

Engineering news on Phys.org
I think it would be pretty much impossible to get a job as, say, an Electrical Engineer, without a degree, although if you have a degree in Computer Science and take some EE courses, it might be possible.

"Self-taught" is not likely to cut it these days in engineering, but it IS possible in the software field.

Engineering in computer chip design is really high-tech. Really, really high tech. Start Googling and find out what level of technology is required to prepare the silicone substrate, etch the chips, etc. Can't be done in your garage...

"Self-taught" is not likely to cut it these days in engineering, but it IS possible in the software field.

I don't understand how it's possible in software not hardware? Both are very involving subjects. Note that what I'm talking about is not a hobbyist web developer. Let's say a video game developer, and I'm aware of outstanding people who did a lot to the field, even more than "degree-holders" contribution. Both fields require logic, math, and physics, and they are related. Also note that the advances in software made to the electronics engineering industry, using circuit simulation and design software...which itself allows for someone to experiment without the need for 17th century laboratories.