Reaction Equation Help: Pentan 3 One + 2,4-Dinitrophenylhydrazine Formula

• Thread starter newkidintownu
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reaction
In summary, the conversation discussed the use of the Wolff-Kishner reaction to write an equation for the reaction between pentan 3 one and 2,4-dinitrophenylhydrazine. The person asking for help also mentioned not being very familiar with this area of chemistry and requested any assistance. The conversation also touched on the use of DNP derivatives for melting point determinations and the difference between Brady's test and the Wolff-Kishner reduction.
newkidintownu
Please can somone help me.

I need to write an equation for the reaction between pentan 3 one and 2,4-dinitrophenylhydrazine.

I am not very good with this area of chemistry so any help will be much appreciated.

Ta

Physics news on Phys.org
Last edited:
bomba923 said:
Hint: Wolff-Kishner

(Edit: this probably belongs in the Homework Help/Other Sciences forum)

The Wolff-Kishner reaction is the reduction that (typically) follows this reaction of a ketone with hydrazine (H2N2H2). I'm not sure it works on a DNP derivative, though. DNP derivatives are usually employed for melting point determinations.

chemisttree said:
The Wolff-Kishner reaction is the reduction that (typically) follows this reaction of a ketone with hydrazine (H2N2H2). I'm not sure it works on a DNP derivative, though. DNP derivatives are usually employed for melting point determinations.
DNP-hydrazine (from the OP) is used to test exclusively for the presence of ketone carbonyls within a molecule via the general Wolff-Kishner reduction. This procedure is known as Brady's Test, which is positive upon formation of a yellow or red precipitate (see Analyst, 1926, 51, 77 - 78, DOI: 10.1039/AN9265100077)

Last edited:
bomba923 said: