Register to reply

IC Engine simulation project

by Aetro
Tags: engine, project, simulation
Share this thread:
Aetro
Oct20-09, 05:19 AM
P: 3
Hello this is my first post on the forum, i have very little knowledge in physics and high level mathematics, but for the past few years ive been dabbling with excel on a way to compare and give rough estimates of many facets of engines.

At the moment what im working on is determining the forces on a rod per degree of rotation(as if something were spinning the crank and neglecting compressive forces in the chamber). I have the complete geometry worked out for the crank, rod, and piston at the moment, and this seems to be the next step.

I tried to post my sheet but it was too large. Please let me know what values would be necessary to do this and ill attempt to get them from the spreadsheet. If possible i would like to be able to account for different rod materials like steel and aluminum(different alloys if possible)

Im not familure with most symbols so any formula will need a pretty thorough explanation.

Thanks ahead of time
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Fungus deadly to AIDS patients found to grow on trees
Canola genome sequence reveals evolutionary 'love triangle'
Scientists uncover clues to role of magnetism in iron-based superconductors
xxChrisxx
Oct20-09, 06:03 AM
P: 2,048
So you are finding the acceleration of the piston over tthe two cycles. I'm not sure how you can post your spreadsheet on here. You can upload it to google docs and share the link.

Similar thread.

http://physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=343029
Aetro
Oct20-09, 02:38 PM
Quote Quote by xxChrisxx View Post
So you are finding the acceleration of the piston over tthe two cycles. I'm not sure how you can post your spreadsheet on here. You can upload it to google docs and share the link.

Similar thread.

http://physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=343029