Switching from Physics to Maths for post grad study

by Fitzoyo
Tags: grad, maths, physics, study, switching
Share this thread:
Fitzoyo
Nov11-10, 05:35 AM
P: 2
Hi,

I'm currently studying towards a physics degree at undergraduate level in the uk with the aim of then going on to do an MSc in maths before hopefully gaining entry onto a phd programme in either maths or a mathematical area of physics.

Given this intention i am trying to gather a scope of opinion on whether it is worth switching to a maths undergraduate degree now (while i still can) or carry on with the physics or is this not much of an issue at undergraduate level?

I do enjoy both subjects and have indulged in study away from my degree in other areas of maths (analysis & topology primarily) that are not options as part of the physics degree, but I'm concerned about my options in maths at post grad level if i have a physics rather than a maths degree.

Also would a degree in physics and then an Msc in maths make it difficult to gain entry into a physics phd programme i.e. without an MSc in physics?

Any advise or opinions are welcome.
Phys.Org News Partner Science news on Phys.org
Flapping baby birds give clues to origin of flight
Prions can trigger 'stuck' wine fermentations, researchers find
Socially-assistive robots help kids with autism learn by providing personalized prompts
MathematicalPhysicist
Nov11-10, 09:56 AM
P: 3,243
Well, if you plan anyway to be a theoretician, then I think the best route is to enroll to a UG in math, and if you can take some additional theoretical physics courses (in classical mechanics, classical electromagnetism, quantum mechanics and statistical mechanics (and thermodynamics)) then also add them to your curriculum.

Usually a degree in physics alone will have some lab component which is a bit tedious, and if you plan to go theoretical then it won't help you as much as the theoretical courses.

I am saying from my dire situation.
Fitzoyo
Nov12-10, 04:56 AM
P: 2