Am i being taught programming right?

In summary, this student's course uses Octave instead of MATLAB, and they use Linux instead of Windows. Despite the apparent differences, this student is confident that he will be able to learn the material and succeed in the course.
Remixex
I'm an 2nd year student aiming for the major "Geophysics", my course, "Numerical Programming for Geophysicists" is teaching me how to use Octave, not Matlab, and they force me to use the terminal, not the GUI, on top of that we use Linux, i am also learning Shell and Python.
Regarding the question on top, are they doing the right thing? is this how it's going to be in the future or is this a completely different picture?
Just a general concern i have, Engineers on my same university use Matlab and Windows, that's why i ask.
Cheers and thanks for the guidance

Physics news on Phys.org
That seems kind of strange to me. All of the "computational methods" courses I've seen use MATLAB, fortran, or Python.

Does your school have a site license for MATLAB, or does Engineering have its own license? Octave is somewhat similar to MATLAB, but Octave is free.

Well it's not necessarily strange to be using one of the ones I mentioned, but programming in the terminal seems extraneous for a computational methods course.

the way you are being taught makes me think the teacher is a CS/CE open source diehard linux fanbody.
Usually they teach programming like this to software engineering students who must not be bound to tools and interfaces, not the others.