Best way to self-teach Electrical Engineering and Embedded Systems?

In summary, I am trying to learn electrical engineering, embedded Linux and AVR/ARM in order to make a career change into embedded systems development. I have a plan but I honestly have no idea if its a good one. I have been into computers my whole life (currently 26y/o) but never actually worked in any IT positions. Other than an AA degree in computer science in 2013, I have been a welder since I was 18, but I am looking to make a career change into embedded systems. My main goal has always been to make hardware, gadgets and gizmos related to motorsports (cars, motorcycles, etc), so just knowing what kind of things I want the embedded system
wyattmarshall
Summary: Trying to self-teach Electrical Engineering, Embedded Linux and AVR/ARM to make a career change into embedded systems development and I need suggestions on the best way to do that. I have a plan but I honestly have no idea if its a good one.

I have been into computers my whole life (currently 26y/o) but never actually worked in any IT positions. Other than an AA degree in computer science in 2013, I have been a welder since I was 18, but I am looking to make a career change into embedded systems.

My main goal has always been to make hardware, gadgets and gizmos related to motorsports (cars, motorcycles, etc), so just knowing what kind of things I want the embedded system to do, I have determined a starting place is learning: AVR/ARM, Embedded Linux, and EE (currently learning math/trigonometry to get to EE).

My current reading list is:
"Plane Geometry" by Loney
"The Linux Command Line" by Schotts
"Programming in C" by Kochan (more a refresher, as I used to be halfway decent in C++. and PHP is similar)
"Fundamentals of Electric Circuits" by Alexander + Sadiku
"How Linux Works" by Ward
"The Linux Programming Interface" by Kerrisk
"the Definitive Guide to Cortex-m4/m3" by Yiu
"Linux From Scratch"