An experiment with a charged electrolyte and magnet

In summary, a high school student is planning on entering a regional science fair with an experiment involving electrolytes, magnets, and electric currents. They are unsure about electromagnetism and how the magnetic fields of a magnet and a current would interact in their experiment. They have considered controlling the movement of the magnet and measuring the effect of the current on the magnet's speed, but they are unsure about the reliability of their methods and the potential flaws in their experiment. They are seeking advice and guidance in order to refine their experiment.
cosmicomic
Hi, I am a high school student and I'm planning on entering a regional science fair with an experiment involving electrolytes, magnets, and electric currents. However, I don't understand electromagnetism well enough to fully understand everything that would be going on in the experiment, and as a result, I can't really predict results or make a hypothesis. In fact, I don't know what I would be measuring besides "what would happen". I've spoken to both the physics teachers at my school and they weren't 100% sure what would happen, either, so I thought I'd ask here.

Suppose you had a container with an ionic solution in it, and it was hooked up to a battery so that it had a current flowing through it. What would happen if you dropped a magnet into the electrolyte?

I've done some research on magnetic fields, and I know that a magnet has a magnetic field with north pole and a south pole, and a wire with a current running through it also has a magnetic field. In the context of the experiment, how would these fields interact? I was thinking that the electrolyte might physically move, since the magnetic field would become distorted and probably have some influence on the ions in the solution.