Arduino Syntax problem ('else' without a previous 'if')

• Thread starter helofrind
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Arduino
In summary, The user is new to programming and was trying a simple code to control an LED, but encountered a syntax error. They asked for an explanation and someone pointed out that they had terminated the 'if' statement with a semi-colon, causing the error. The user thanks them and acknowledges their mistake.
helofrind
not sure why I am getting a syntax, I am new to programming so trying something simple. Can somone please explain why I am getting this error?

Code:
int LED = 11;                                // on/off battery 2 control
int LEDP = 5;
void setup()
{
 pinMode (LED, OUTPUT);
 pinMode (LEDP, INPUT);
}

void loop()
{
 int light = digitalRead (LEDP);
 if (digitalRead (light) == HIGH);
 {
   digitalWrite (light, HIGH);
 }
 else
 {
   digitalWrite (light, LOW);
 }
}
Arduino: 1.6.12 (Windows 7), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

C:\Users\User\Documents\LED_controller\LED_controllerIO\LED_controllerIO.ino: In function 'void loop()':

LED_controllerIO:19: error: 'else' without a previous 'if'

else

^

exit status 1
'else' without a previous 'if'

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
helofrind said:
not sure why I am getting a syntax, I am new to programming so trying something simple. Can somone please explain why I am getting this error?

Code:
int LED = 11;                                // on/off battery 2 control
int LEDP = 5;
void setup()
{
 pinMode (LED, OUTPUT);
 pinMode (LEDP, INPUT);
}

void loop()
{
 int light = digitalRead (LEDP);
 {
   digitalWrite (light, HIGH);
 }
 else
 {
   digitalWrite (light, LOW);
 }
}
Arduino: 1.6.12 (Windows 7), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

C:\Users\User\Documents\LED_controller\LED_controllerIO\LED_controllerIO.ino: In function 'void loop()':