Automotive Engineering career advice

In summary, In order to work in the automotive engineering field, you should get an ME degree from an accredited university. You should join SAE and get involved in their competitions. You should also interview with the automobile companies and their suppliers.
Austin Finley
Hello everyone! I was wondering if someone could give me some advice on what I should do in order to work in the automotive engineering field. Right now I am a freshman at Coastal Carolina University as an honors student in the Applied Physics major with a focus on engineering. I am on track to complete my degree in 3 years and after I graduate I was thinking about going to Clemson for a Ph.D. in Automotive Engineering. Ultimately I want to work for Ford in its Research and Advanced Engineering department.

Physics news on Phys.org
Get an ME degree from an accredited university as the first step. Join SAE and get involved with the Mini Baja and other SAE student competitions. Then interview with the automobile companies and their suppliers.

Applied physics is NOT the way to get to work for an automobile company. They will want engineers in almost every instance, so that is the way to go.

Thank you for your response, however i do not think I explained my intentions very well. I am planning to use my undergraduate degree in Applied Physics to get into a graduate program at Clemson University for Automotive engineering. They have both a Master's and Ph.D. program for people with a B.S. in either engineering or applied sciences, provided they have good GRE scores and a 3.0 (M.S.) or 3.5 (Ph.D.) GPA.

Also, I tried to start a SAE team this semester at my college but the proposal was denied due to the amount of funding it required, so I figured I could join Clemson's SAE team when I go for my graduate degree.