Band structure after compensation doping

In summary, compensation doping is a predominant technique used in semiconductor manufacturing where initially P-type materials are doped with N-type impurities to create N-type semiconductors. However, the energy band diagrams for this process are not clearly explained and there are mentions that the acceptor and donor atoms neutralize each other. This results in a mish-mash of "neither p nor n type" silicon, which can be confusing for electronic engineers. The significance of arrows in the energy band diagram is not fully understood, but in the example cited in the lecture, the addition of more acceptor levels causes a larger density of states for the acceptor level, promoting more electrons from the valence band and turning the material from n-type to p
majormajor
As an electronic engineer I am not an expert on semiconductor physics but I think I understand the basics of energy band diagrams reasonably well. It all fits together fairly neatly with the normal textbook assumption that we are looking at pure N-type or P-type doping. The problem I have is when they then mention that actually the semiconductor manufacturing process uses predominantly compensation doping, so they might start with a P-type material and then add N-type doping until the material ends up N-type. How exactly this looks on the energy band diagrams is glossed over. There are some fleeting mentions that "oh by the way, the acceptor and donor atoms will neutralize each other".

For example, here's a link from

http://www.doe.carleton.ca/~smcgarry/ELEC3908/Slides/ELEC3908_Lect_3.pdf

Showing the band diagram below for compensation doping:

upload_2016-10-20_10-31-2.png