Being an autodidact mathematician?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of becoming a self-taught mathematician with knowledge equivalent to a mathematical degree or higher. It is agreed that it is possible, but difficult, and involves finding a way to secure discipline and critical feedback without being enrolled in a university program. Suggestions for obtaining feedback include using online forums or finding a retired academic to mentor you. It is also mentioned that having connections at a university and displaying your knowledge may help in getting accepted, but ultimately the PhD paper is the most reputable way to be recognized for your work.
member 624364
Would you guys say it could be done, to become an autodidact mathematician with the knowledge of a mathematical degree or higher?

Obviously, it's not impossible, and it's not as easy as taking a degree in a university. But is it in the realms of a very motivated, 16 year-old. I have got no responsibilities other than learning, as I am homeschooled, but I teach myself.

I am in a conundrum as far as sitting exams is concerned and I don't know if I would be able to get into a university. I am unable to sit physics exams for a-levels and GCSEs as it requires 'pratical work' and I am an external candidate. There is also other things holding me back.

But the main question is, can I get to that level?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think it is possible, but quite difficult.

To me, the most important part of being enrolled in a university program is that it provides 1. a certain amount of discipline and 2. the possibility of critical feedback on your work. If you are not enrolled in a program, then you must find a way to secure these aspects for yourself.

Also, unless you manage to prove something truly remarkable, a formal degree is usually better for your employment chances than pure self-study without any formal conclusion.