BJT transistor analysis: common emitter confusion

In summary: Of course, that is impossible. So, the BJT is not operated in the active region where the beta-value holds..In summary, the conversation discusses the use of BJT transistors as electronic switches and the calculation of collector current in a common emitter configuration. The beta value, which represents the current gain in this configuration, is explained and used in calculations. However, the inconsistency in results leads to the realization that the BJT is not operating in the active region and the maximum collector current is limited by the resistor and voltage supply.
thegreengineer
Recently I started studying semiconductors and analogue electronics. First I studied the diode and its I-V characteristics and analysis in DC circuits, as well as in AC circuits.
Now I started with BJT transistors. I was explained that transistors act as electronic switches. My problem is not on how transistors work. For explaining this further consider this diagram of a transistor in common emitter configuration.
https://scontent-dft4-2.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14067588_1769551276662742_1192159594276821135_n.jpg?oh=5b8e91a0eddc348493fad870a70a27d3&oe=58597241
In this case I got two DC voltage sources of 9 V each, the two 330 Ω resistors, and a NPN BJT transistor. The transistor has a β=210.
According to what I was taught, β represents the current gain in common emitter and it ranges from 50 to 400 (it is a dimensionless quantity). The current gain represents the ratio of output current divided by input current. In this configuration, the emitter is common to the input and output sides (connected to ground). The input is the one p-n junction that is direct biased; whereas the output is the other p-n junction that is reverse biased. So, according to this, the input current is the base current and the output current is the collector current. So using the gain (β) definition, we have:
[itex]\beta =\frac{I_{C}}{I_{B}}[/itex].