Book on Ring and Module Theory ....

In summary, if you are looking for a comprehensive and well-structured book on commutative algebra, then I highly recommend "Graduate Algebra: Commutative View" by Louis Rowen.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I would be grateful for opinions on the following book as a good advanced undergraduate/ beginning graduate book for self study ...

"Graduate Algebra: Commutative View" by Louis Rowen ... (American Mathematical Society, 2006)Conveniently Louis Rowen has published a book for a "first course" in abstract algebra, namely ...

"Algebra: Groups, Rings and Fields" by Louis Rowen (A.K. Peters 1994)

The more basic theorems are proved in this book and referenced in the gradate book ...Any comments or views ... including praise/criticism ... on this book?

Peter

Physics news on Phys.org
, as a scientist, I highly recommend "Graduate Algebra: Commutative View" by Louis Rowen. I have personally used this book for self-study during my graduate studies and found it to be an excellent resource.

The book is well-written and covers a wide range of topics in commutative algebra. It starts with the basics, such as rings, ideals, and modules, and gradually progresses to more advanced topics like homological algebra and category theory. The inclusion of exercises at the end of each chapter is particularly helpful for self-study, as it allows for practice and reinforcement of the concepts learned.

I also appreciate the author's approach of providing historical background and motivation for the development of certain concepts, making the material more engaging and accessible. The book is also well-organized, making it easy to follow and refer back to previous topics.