Book recommendations read for genetics, evolution, and neurobiology

In summary, the conversation involved a CS major college student expressing their interest in biology, specifically genetics, evolution, and neurobiology. They were looking for book recommendations that were not too basic but also not too detailed. One person recommended a math book and another recommended two books on evolutionary neurobiology. The student expressed gratitude for the recommendations.
CuriousPhilosopher
Hello everyone,
So I'm a CS major college student. I've always been interested in biology, especially evolution and genetics; but recently I've been really interested in neurobiology. I read a lot from all kind of stuff and I thought I could read some books on these subjects. What I'm looking for isn't a popular science book with random information, yet not a detailed textbook. I'm looking for something in the middle. I have experience in reading physics/math books like this but never been around any biology books.
What would you recommend to read for genetics, evolution, and neurobiology?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't know any books for genetics and what not, but here's another math one for you:

Things to Make and Do int he Fourth Dimension by Matt Parker

It's hilarious and entertaining and my favorite.

Likes CuriousPhilosopher

1. What are some good books to read about genetics?

Some highly recommended books on genetics include "The Gene: An Intimate History" by Siddhartha Mukherjee, "The Selfish Gene" by Richard Dawkins, and "Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters" by Matt Ridley. These books provide a comprehensive and engaging overview of the field of genetics.

2. Can you recommend any books about evolution?