Buck Converter (Step Down Chopper Derivation)

In summary, the conversation discusses the derivation of Buck Converter and the error in equation 13.3. The participants also discuss the physical meaning of the equations and how to visualize them. The concept of energy storage and release in the inductor is explained and used to derive equation 13.4. The need for the average inductor voltage to be zero in steady state is also discussed.
jaus tail
Hi,
I'm studying Choppers and I'm struggling with derivation of Buck Converter.
upload_2018-1-3_10-44-20.png

As per equation 13.3 if I solve it ahead I get
Vs D T - Vo D T = - Vo T + Vo D T
Solving this ahead I get
Vs (D T ) = Vo (-T + DT + DT)
Vs (DT) = Vo(2DT - T)
Vs D = Vo (2D - 1)
Vo / Vs = D/(2D - 1)
Not sure how to go ahead from here to reach equation 13.4

Attachments

• upload_2018-1-3_10-37-27.png
    upload_2018-1-3_10-37-27.png
    33.1 KB · Views: 620
  • upload_2018-1-3_10-41-18.png
    upload_2018-1-3_10-41-18.png
    26.5 KB · Views: 519
  • upload_2018-1-3_10-44-20.png
    upload_2018-1-3_10-44-20.png
    27.3 KB · Views: 1,366
Engineering news on Phys.org
There is an error in 13.3. There is no minus sign in front of the Vo on the right-hand side.

You can catch these kinds of errors by visualizing what the equations are telling us physically.

But the graph also has - Vo.
Physically area means integrating of V and t.

The areas are equal. You can sum them to zero, one contributing positive, the other contributing negative. If they are on opposite sides of the equal sign they will both share the same sign (otherwise they aren't equal).

the_emi_guy said:
If they are on opposite sides of the equal sign they will both share the same sign (otherwise they aren't equal).

This is what I don't understand. If they are on opposite side why will both share same sign. Negative Y-axis has negative numbers.