Calculating Pressure & Mass for Hydrogen Tank Filling

In summary, an engineer who thinks this is merely a pressure and mass calculation, and does not think to look further, fails.
H2Fill
TL;DR Summary
I want to fill a secondary tank with 10kg of H2 at 700bar, how do I calculate the necessary pressure/mass of the primary tank.
As I stated in the summary I'd like to calculate the required pressure and mass of a tank of hydrogen that would allow me to fill a second tank with 10kg of H2 at 700bar.

I am trying to get an idea of the feasibility of doing this, putting aside, for now, how the primary tank would itself be filled and any safety concerns.

I appreciate any help.

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
Talk to your supervisor and discuss what assumptions are necessary to start solving this problem.

Looks like assumptions are already being made right here.

This isn't something I am responsible for and is only tangentially related to what I do for a living. I would like to know how to figure it out though if you can help.

If I start with the ideal gas law assume a volume and add mass until I get the pressure I want keeping all else constant. This would give me a mass for the secondary tank.

Then I could keep adding mass until the delta pressure is relatively small that would give me a pressure and mass for the primary tank that could give up what the secondary tank needs without losing pressure.

If the pressure increases too much without adequate mass I can increase the volume of the tank and start over.

Thoughts?

H2Fill said:
As I stated in the summary I'd like to calculate the required pressure and mass of a tank of hydrogen that would allow me to fill a second tank with 10kg of H2 at 700bar.