Calculating the energy in an EM wave

In summary: I have a degree in chemistry where i had physical chemistry 1 and 2 and 2 physics courses. I am drawn towards physics and is therefore reading it by myself. One of the two physics courses was introduction course in electromagnetism. I would imagine that griffiths intro to electromagnetism is a bit more advanced so i could read that.Zz.
fisher garry
You don't have to read all this theory to answer my question. I added it just in case.
1576848828978.png

1576848884781.png

1576847533545.png

1576847602516.png

Above they use the definition work energy theorem in vacuum to get to (8.12). Since it is in vacuum I would guess that one could use the equations for B and E field from EM-waves so that magnitude poynting vector due to orthogonality of B and E field of EM-waves this becomes:

##|\frac{1}{\mu_0} \pmb{E}\times \pmb{B} |=\frac{1}{\mu_0} \pmb{E} \pmb{B}##

by using
## \pmb{E}=c \pmb{B}##

##|\frac{1}{\mu_0} \pmb{E}\times \pmb{B} |=\frac{1}{\mu_0} c \pmb{B^2}##

Is it possible to expand this so that you can calculate the energy of a single EM-wave? By integrating (8.12) or something? It should be equal to E=hf if I am not wrong.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
What exactly is ".. a single EM-wave..."? And why should this be equal to hf? hf is the energy of a single photon. This is not a "... single EM-wave...".

Zz.

Likes sophiecentaur and fisher garry
ZapperZ said:
What exactly is ".. a single EM-wave..."? And why should this be equal to hf? hf is the energy of a single photon. This is not a "... single EM-wave...".

Zz.

Is there a mathematical relation between energy in a photon and energy of an EM-wave?

If you ignore people's requests for clarification ('What exactly is ".. a single EM-wave..."? ') you will not get the most useful replies and you will not be getting the most out of PF.

fisher garry said:
Is there a mathematical relation between energy in a photon and energy of an EM-wave?