Can grad students take fun undergrad courses?

In summary, at most places you are allowed to audit courses if you like (i.e. take them, but without credit) and take whatever courses you like as long as you fulfill the physics requirements and make adequate progress.
DukeofDuke
Can grad students take "fun" undergrad courses?

Hi,
is there any general policy on what undergraduate courses Physics grad students can take?

I'm a physics undergrad, but I like mathematics quite a bit and there are a lot of math courses I know I won't be able to take before I graduate. So I was curious as to whether Physics Graduate departments would mind if I sat in on an extra math course every once in a while for fun (or if there is a general policy for this type of thing, involving tuition and such).

Physics news on Phys.org

It will of course depend on your university, but from the experiences I have with graduate students (mostly from European universities, don't know if it matters) it seems that at most places you're allowed to audit courses if you like (i.e. take them, but without credit) and take whatever courses you like as long as you fulfill the physics requirements and make adequate progress (auditing may not be possible at all places). At most places you're given pretty free reins as long as you show you can handle it. I would be really surprised to find a university in which physics students aren't allowed to at least enroll in a couple of undergrad math courses. For parts of physics the standard undergrad math training just isn't enough, and in that case departments would be crazy not to allow students to take a bit more math. In my experience the students who go a bit outside the comfort zone of their field and take some auxiliary courses are the best student and I believe departments know this.