Can I get help solving this bottle opener problem using torques?

• Thread starter Soicowboy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Torques
In summary: In part b, you are trying to find the force F on object 6a, which is the 500N weight hanging from the string. First, you need to find the distance P from the fulcrum (the point where the string is attached to the weight) to the line of action of the weight, or the position where the 500N weight is pulling on the string. Then, you use the Pythagorean theorem to find F = GM / (2P). In summary, in part b of the problem, you need to find the force F on object 6a, which is the 500N weight hanging from the string.
Soicowboy
Homework Statement
Learning from home over quarantine, need help finding online learning material
Relevant Equations
Torque / rotational force?
Hi guys I'm studying at home over lock down would anybody be able to point me in the direction of some online learning material or what concept I should look up to solve this problem and find formulas . I'm stuck and can't find anything relevant online while searching.

20200508_083654.jpg

Thanks guys any help is great I'm not really a physics guy this if for a fabrication course I'd normally get help at a night school

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

Are you familiar with drawing free body diagrams (FBDs)? If so draw one for this problem (call the right end where the force is applied "C").

And with FBDs, are you familiar with using the sum of torques and sum of forces to figure out any accelerations, etc. for the object represented by the FBD?

I believe that for this problem you will just set the sum of the two torques B-C and B-A to zero to find the force at B...

Does that help?

Thanks a lot I'll look up and learn those concepts and post my working. Appreciate your time thank you

Likes berkeman
Soicowboy said:
Thanks a lot I'll look up and learn those concepts and post my working. Appreciate your time thank you