Can I get into a graduate physics program without a Bsc degr

In summary: There is no one exam that is required for admission to graduate school. However, the physics PGRE is a required exam for graduate school. Additionally, letters of recommendation are often required in order to be accepted into a graduate program. However, this is not always the case.
jamalkoiyess
I am a physics sophomore. I have been told by some of the graduates that most of the courses can be self-studied through the books that are demanded. I want to know if a masters or Ph.D. program would accept me if I self-studied everything. It's going to save me a lot of money.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you don't pass an exam, how can an admission committee (and yourself) know that you have learned the material?

Likes Wminus
DrClaude said:
If you don't pass an exam, how can an admission committee (and yourself) know that you have learned the material?
Are there no standardized exams for graduate schools? Like the SAT for undergraduates?

No. A BS degree is an admissions requirement for most graduate schools.

jamalkoiyess said:
I am a physics sophomore. I have been told by some of the graduates that most of the courses can be self-studied through the books that are demanded. I want to know if a masters or Ph.D. program would accept me if I self-studied everything. It's going to save me a lot of money.

Since you relied so much on these "graduates", why don't you ask them if any of them actually did this, and got into a graduate program without actually taking such classes and getting their degrees? That in itself should tell you something.

Standardized tests ALONE do not tell any admission committee anything. Even LSAT is now no longer being required for admission at many law schools, Harvard being the latest one to not require it.

So, without such emphasis on these standardized tests, what do you think is the most important evaluation criteria here for admission?

Zz.

ZapperZ said: