Cantilever statically indeterminate beam with point load

In summary, The conversation is about finding the equation for deflection in a statically indeterminate cantilever beam with an attached point load. The built-in end has both deflection and slope equal to zero, while the propped end only has deflection equal to zero. The poster is having trouble finding the correct equation and asks for help. SteamKing provides clarification on the boundary conditions and asks for the poster's calculations. The poster apologizes for the late reply and attaches part of their calculations for clarification.
sara291
hi
please if anyone can tell me how i can get the following equation (attachments) of deflection for statically indeterminate cantilever beam with point load (attachments). I'm not an engineering student and having difficulty in coming up with boundary conditions.
looking for help. thanks

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    11.9 KB · Views: 548
  • Capture2.JPG
    Capture2.JPG
    4.5 KB · Views: 648
  • Capture3.JPG
    Capture3.JPG
    4 KB · Views: 585
Engineering news on Phys.org
At the built-in end, the deflection and slope of the beam are both equal to zero. At the propped end, only the deflection is equal to zero.

thank you SteamKing. it means at clamped end y(x) & dy/dx = 0 and propped end only dy/dx=o.

sara291 said:
thank you SteamKing. it means at clamped end y(x) & dy/dx = 0 and propped end only dy/dx=o.

You got it half right. At the propped end, the deflection y = 0, not the slope dy/dx, as can be seen by inspection of the figure.

i tried these condition to find the deflection equation (eq image in thumbnail) using eq M=EI d^2y/dx^2, by integration method. but when i find the constants of integration by applying these BC and put their values i got zero instead of above equation. please help!

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    40.5 KB · Views: 4,595