CE + Phys or CE + Math: Interested in Quantum Computing & AI

In summary, a student in university is considering a double major in either Computer Engineering and Physics or Computer Engineering and Mathematics. The aim is to gain knowledge and experience in both quantum computing and advanced AI. It is believed that a math degree would complement the CE degree and provide a good foundation for understanding physics related to quantum computing. However, AI is typically a combination of CE and advanced statistics. Ultimately, the choice between CE + Phys or CE + Math will depend on the electives taken, and pursuing further education in grad school may be necessary for advanced work.
Jpmcke
Hey all, I'm a student in university who wants to Double Major in Computer Engineering and Physics or Computer Engineering and Mathematics. Ideally I want to get some time in working on quantum computers and some time in working on advanced AI, so one of the big things I want to do is pick the community's brain on whether CE + Phys or CE + Math major is best for these ambitions.

Physics news on Phys.org
From what I've seen, AI is normally a blend of CE and advanced statistics (i.e. mathematics). I think that math would be the best 2nd degree, since it would be able to complement CE well and is a good springboard into the advanced physics needed to understand quantum computing.

AI will be closer to CS than CE. That being said its really about what electives you take. Usually you can take electives in other departments.
If you want to do advanced stuff you'll most likely have to go to grad school.

1. What is CE + Phys or CE + Math?

CE + Phys stands for Computer Engineering + Physics, while CE + Math stands for Computer Engineering + Mathematics. These are academic programs that combine computer engineering with either physics or mathematics, providing students with a strong foundation in both fields.

2. How is CE + Phys or CE + Math related to quantum computing?