Where Can I Find Detailed Information on Building a Cloud Chamber?

Your Name] In summary, the ideal temperature gradient for a cloud chamber is around -40°C to -50°C and the type of alcohol used can vary. Larger chambers may require more cooling power and a refrigeration unit may be necessary for continuous operation. DIY resources can be helpful for building a cloud chamber on a budget.
funkpun
Hi. I've searched through the forum and other internet resources and found several threads and sites, but haven't yet found any really detailed technical info.

I'd like to build a series of cloud chambers. I'm an designer/researcher, with an interest in history and philosophy of science. Does anyone know of some good resources that describe ideal temperature gradients (I've seen -40 C toss around), alcohol types (some recipes call for pure isopropyl, others for ethyl or methyl), discussion of chamber size (several recipes give very specific chamber sizes with no discussion of these were arrived at), etc.

Ideally, I'd like to be able to run a chamber continuously. I've seen at least one model that used a (custom?) refrigeration unit. I've just begun to do some research into refrigeration plates, but still haven't managed to find a straight-forward resource on these.

I've no budget for this. Obviously, I'd like to get away from dry ice. Do affordable cooling plates of a reasonable size (a square foot or larger) exist, that can achieve the needed temperature gradient exist?

Physics news on Phys.org

Thank you for your interest in building a series of cloud chambers. I understand your desire for detailed technical information. I would be happy to provide you with some resources and considerations for your project.