Competing in the International Physics Olympiad

In summary, the physics Olympiad is a competition that college students and professionals take part in. This sophomore is taking a course to prepare for the competition, and is struggling to keep up with the pace of the class. He recommends using resources such as lecture notes, a college physics textbook, and the internet.
DeltaForce
As I stated in the title, I'm trying to compete at the physics Olympiad and hopefully walk away with a decent ranking. I am currently a sophomore at a mediocre high school; I'm taking this Olympiad physics class for preparation. The course is once a week for 3 hours that is covering algebra-based physics. My math level is at pre-calculus whereas my peers in that class are 8th graders that are already learning about calculus. This overwhelms me because if that's the type of people I'm up against at the Olympiad, I'm so screwed. The pacing of the lectures isn't helping either. We would do one chapter per two weeks (which is 6 hours), and I would struggle to keep up (like the teacher would be talking, and I would doze off because I don't understand anything). All the while my peers are going through example problems after example problems with relative ease. After I get home, I would spend an absurd amount of time doing physics homework and studying for a test, often requiring me to use the internet to get answers. This worries me heavily as I will have to do problems independently at the Olympiad. Even after studying for a long time, when tested on, I'd usually score around 7/12. This disappoints me.