Connection between General Relativity & Chaos Theory?

In summary: However, the more accurately you can specify an event's location and time, the more accurately you can predict what will happen to an object in its vicinity.
MyoPhilosopher
TL;DR Summary
Would chaos theory (of two events) only be in the realm of possibility if light could travel from locations of both events in the given delta time.
I am very new to such ideas but was wondering if there is any connection to what I am asking.
Taking two events, let's say at opposite ends of the globe. Would even A, only have a potential on event B, if light could travel between these event in the given time frame of these event occurring. Would other ideas play a role?
If I am totally wrong, I would appreciate any guidance on learning more on the topics. This was just an idea that kind of lingered in my head as I have started reading on relativity.
Looking forward to improving my understanding.

Physics news on Phys.org
MyoPhilosopher said:
Would even A, only have a potential on event B, if light could travel between these event in the given time frame of these event occurring

If "have a potential on" means "causally affect", then yes; relativity says that causal effects can't travel faster than light.

I'm not sure why you refer to chaos theory specifically; what I said above about relativity applies to any causal effect.

I'm not entirely clear on what you are asking. If light would not have time (even on the shortest possible route) to travel from A to B then whatever happened at A cannot affect B. Events further back in time at the same place (however that's defined) as A could affect B.

Ibix said:
I'm not entirely clear on what you are asking. If light would not have time (even on the shortest possible route) to travel from A to B then whatever happened at A cannot affect B. Events further back in time at the same place (however that's defined) as A could affect B.
PeterDonis said: