Could a Pulling Airplane Propeller Be More Effective Than a Pushing One?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the efficiency and effectiveness of a propeller that pulls on air instead of pushing against it. The experts in the conversation discuss the forces involved in propeller movement and the challenges of implementing a pull-based propeller in aircraft. They also mention the existing research and resources on this topic. Ultimately, the consensus is that while it may be beneficial in some cases, the overall efficiency and performance of a pull-based propeller may not be significantly better than a traditional push-based one.
EnigmaStigma
Hi, I'll start by saying I'm new here. I'm in my first year at college and I want to be an inventor.
My question is this - if there was an airplane propeller that could pull on air instead of pushing against it to create thrust, would it be more effective at 1. creating thrust and 2. avoiding turbulence?
This question is mostly theoretical right now. I'm just looking for some thoughtful input.

Physics news on Phys.org
How do you pull on air? You move a gas by creating a pressure difference, and then the pressure difference pushes the gas around. Even a vacuum cleaner, which appears to pull air in through its nozzle, is actually pushing air out the other end to create a pressure difference that pushes air unto the nozzle.

Since a propeller is just a spinning wing, it is both pulling and pushing on the air.

It isn't clear to me what you are actually after here, but a lot of work has already been done to maximize propeller efficiency...

russ_watters said:
it is both pulling and pushing on the air.
This is just confusing semantics. The forces between the blades and the air molecules are always repulsive, so there is no pulling.

A.T. said:
This is just confusing semantics. The forces between the blades and the air molecules are always repulsive, so there is no pulling.