Data Analyst at startup for first job?

• Job Skills
  • Thread starter Slusho
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Data Job
In summary: Definitely, what @berkeman said. Start out at large companies if at all possible. They have the budget and inclination to do some training. More importantly, they have tried-and-true methods and procedures of what works in a professional environment -- such things as documentation standards, regulatory requirements, seeing how the 'pros' do things, and usually an opportunity to see at least a bit of related fields.
Slusho
I've been trying to figure out what jobs I can use my BS in physics for and I see data analyst being recommended a lot. I have limited python and SQL experience from college. I was thinking of trying for startups in NYC, but now I see articles saying startups want people that need no training so I'm thinking that they won't hire people that aren't experienced in data analysis work and programming. I'm not sure where else might be a better place to ask this, but does anyone have experience with this and can give me their thoughts?

Physics news on Phys.org
There are approximately 18,000 recruiters in the NYC area. Put your resume up on the job boards and you'll likely land something. I've had my resume OFF of the job boards of 6 or 7 years now and I still get a couple of job postings a week sent to me by recruiters.

Likes berkeman
phinds said:
There are approximately 18,000 recruiters in the NYC area. Put your resume up on the job boards and you'll likely land something. I've had my resume OFF of the job boards of 6 or 7 years now and I still get a couple of job postings a week sent to me by recruiters.