Design & Build a 12V Heating Pad - Advice Needed

In summary, Mike advises against building a 12 volt electric heating pad because of the dangerous temperatures it could reach and the legal risks involved.
ljstew
Hello
I am not an engineer or an electrician. I would like some advice on designing and building a 12 volt electric heating pad.
I am thinking I would like it to warm to 150-200 degree in 3-4 minutes, that is just a thought.
Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
ljstew said:
I am not an engineer or an electrician.

These are two good reasons not to proceed further with this project.

ljstew said:
Hello

I am thinking I would like it to warm to 150-200 degree in 3-4 minutes, that is just a thought.
Thanks

that is reason 3 think about what that temp would do to someones skin. Not including the fact that you shouldn't play with electricity without formal training.

edit:just realized your probably talking Fahrenheit, not Celsius lol

Last edited:
Mordred said:
that is reason 3 think about what that temp would do to someones skin. Not including the fact that you shouldn't play with electricity without formal training.

edit:just realized your probably talking Fahrenheit, not Celsius lol

200F would still be dangerous for skin contact - even if there were no actual roast pork smell.

Heating something quickly is not difficult - unless. Unless it is large and takes a lot of heat, or is boiling off a liquid. Companies like Minco make off-the shelf heaters for these applications, but if your playing with these temperatures, you need thermal protection devices to prevent fire, and guard structures to keep people from being hurt.

No one will sell such a product without UL approving it first.

This may not seem like much until the judge declares that all your liquid assets and 30% of your future income is awarded to someone you hurt.