Did Mars belonged in Earth's Orbit at one time?

In summary, the conversation centered around a theory about a planet losing its elemental resources due to a change in its distance from the sun. The speaker was inspired by reading a book on Lights and Optics and wondered if this could have caused Mars to become barren. They also questioned if Mars could have originated from Earth's orbital path and if the moon's formation could have caused a change in Mars's orbit. The conversation was advised to follow the PF Rules on speculative posts.
GaryF
I am curious how easily my theory can be disproven... I have never heard anyone mention it, and as well I have no knowledge to support it. I was daydreaming of what would cause a planet simular to ours, to lose all of its elemental resources. It could be the fact that I am reading a book on Lights and Optics by Kyle Kirkland that lead to my conclusion. Loss of sunlight. Is it right to assume that if a planet such as Earth suddenly was put at a distance where the light from the sun was weaker, would we surley lose our elemental resources such as plants, then atmosphere, then water leaving a baren selestial body only remenisant of activity; just like Mars. So now I am here. Did Mars possibly originate in Earth's Orbital path, traveling on opposite ends in the same directions? This also brings the question of what would it take to put a planet out further in an orbit of further distance from the sun. Isnt it theorized that the moon was once apart of earth? what if in some instance when the moon was formed, Mars was also struck changing its orbit, further from the sun and stoping all activity on the planet... Has this ever been thought of?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Please review the PF Rules on overly speculative posts.

1. Did Mars ever have the conditions to support life similar to Earth?