Did working as a MechE help you learn about tools in a machine shop?

In summary, the mechanical engineer learns about the tools in a machine shop and how they work. They also learn from experienced operators.
timmeister37
TL;DR Summary
This is a question strictly for Mechanical Engineers: Did working as a mechanical engineer help you learn about the existence of tools in a machine shop and how the tools in a machine shop work? By tools in a machine shop, I am asking about tools that a machinist would use such as a lathe, a milling machine, a drill press, etc.
The first career that I tried to have was as a mechanical engineer. I majored in mechanical engineering at a university, but I failed out of the university.

I've always been curious as to exactly what most mechanical engineers do most of the time. I imagine that the vast majority of the time, mechanical engineering consists of doing very white collar work such as doing mathematics and physics, but I think that many engineers probably become familiar with the tools in a machine shop because of the mechanical engineering work that they do.

When I was a freshmen at the university, I had an engineering graphics class or some sort of class about how to draw and diagram stuff on a computer. One day my professor had a machinist come into the class and tell the class about "malicious compliance." The machinist said that sometimes the worst thing that he could do to an engineer is do exactly what the engineer had instructed the machinist to do in a diagram or something. The machinist coming into our class and talking to us made a big impression on me. It gave me the impression that perhaps many or most engineers work closely with machinists in the mechanical engineering work that they do.

Did working as a mechanical engineer help you learn about the existence of tools in a machine shop and about how the tools in a machine shop work?