Difficulties solving ODE in Octave

In summary, you need to supply x and t from the command window in order to run the pend function. If you want to define x and t in the script itself, you can do so by changing your function: function xdot = pend() x = ... %define x t = ... %define t %Now do your work with x and t endfunction. Alternately, you can run the script runplot.m and execute it that way.
Dr.D
TL;DR Summary
A short bit of Octave code that works fine in the Command window produces errors when saved and then executed. What am I doing wrong?
I'm new to using Octave 5.1.0, and a bit confused about how to solve ODEs with Octave. Let me show you a bit of code that I grabbed off a university web site:

>> function xdot = pend(x,t) % pend.m
xdot(1) = x(2); xdot(2) = - x(1) - 0.1*x(2);
end
>> sol=lsode( "pend",[0.1, 0.2], t = linspace(0,40, 200));
>> plot( t, sol,"-@")

If I past that code into the Command window, it runs beautifully and produces the plot that would be expected.

Now, let me save that exact same bit of code as pend.m. If I go to the Command window and type "pend", I get an error message:
error: 'x' undefined near line 2 column 13
error: called from
pend at line 2 column 11

If I go to the the Editor window and load the file pend.m, when I then try to save and run it, I get the same error message as above. What am I missing here?

Help will be greatly appreciated.

PS: If it is relevant, I'm running Win10 64 bit on an HP Z210 machine.

Physics news on Phys.org
Dr.D said:
Now, let me save that exact same bit of code as pend.m. If I go to the Command window and type "pend", I get an error message:
error: 'x' undefined near line 2 column 13
error: called from
pend at line 2 column 11