Distinguish Leaves vs Leaflets: Objective Criteria

In summary, the conversation discusses how to distinguish between leaves and leaflets on a plant. The speaker suggests that on deciduous plants, a single twig going to a single leaf surface is a leaf, while little branches going from the leaf attachment point to several leaves are leaflets. They also mention the importance of buds, which can become branches, leaves, or flowers and do not vanish as previously thought.
Stephen Tashi
Science Advisor
TL;DR Summary
What are the objective criteria for determining whether something on a plant is a leaf vs whether it is a leaflet?
If I'm informed that a structure on a plant is a leaf with a certain number of leaflets, I can usually visualize the plant that way. But if I'm not informed about that fact, I only see leaves. How can I distinguish leaves vs leaflets?

Biology news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert on leaves but this is the approach I would take:
on deciduous plants (that loose their leaves seasonally) if there is a single little twig going to a single leaf surface then its a leaf. If there are little branches going from the leaf attachment point to several leaves, they are leaflets.
Its like a big leaf (evolutionarially) broken up in to several smaller leaves.

Screenshot 2023-07-03 at 12.54.09 AM.png

Likes Astronuc and Vanadium 50
The buds seem to be key features in the diagrams. I'm ignorant about what buds are. I think of them as the initial stages of a branch or leaf - something that would turn into a branch or the stem of a leaf and thus vanish. Yet in the diagrams the buds are still present at the base of branches and stems.

Stephen Tashi said:
something that would turn into a branch or the stem of a leaf and thus vanish
Buds form in the crotch between the leaf and its branch.
Buds can become branches, leaves, or flowers (buds). They don't vanish, they grow and change.

Likes Astronuc, jim mcnamara, pinball1970 and 1 other person