DIY Electric Heater Project: Newbie Seeking Resources

In summary: If you want to power a 12 volt DC heater from a car battery, you will need a 12 volt DC adapter. There are many options for this, and an online search will reveal many options.
Soccerdude240
Hey everyone! I am trying to build a small electric heater as a DIY project. My only experience in electronics is a digital electronics class I took...other than that, I'm new to just about all of this stuff, but I can pick up on things rather quickly. Does anyone have any good resources that you think might help me get started?

Thanks in advance!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Soccerdude240 said:
Hey everyone! I am trying to build a small electric heater as a DIY project. My only experience in electronics is a digital electronics class I took...other than that, I'm new to just about all of this stuff, but I can pick up on things rather quickly. Does anyone have any good resources that you think might help me get started?

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the PF.

Do you mean like a heating pad? That could be a fairly safe first project, as long as you use a packaged power source that already has safety approvals (like UL). A moderate-size wall transformer could be your power source -- you can get them from Radio Shack and similar stores.

If you mean like a moderate-power space heater powered by the AC Mains (110Vrms, etc.), that is beyond your abilities at the moment. You have plenty to learn before tackling an AC Mains based project, which includes using safety agency approved design practices and construction techniques.

What do you want to heat?

I'm just looking for some projects to get me familiar with circuitry and electricity and general. I am working up to building some handlebar warmers for my bike (which will be a much tougher challenge) so I'm starting small. Any other resources you might have wold be greatly appreciated!

Soccerdude240 said: