Do I need physics in college if Im majoring in computer science?

In summary, physics is an important subject for computer science majors as it provides essential mathematical and analytical skills, as well as an understanding of the physical principles behind computer hardware and software. While some colleges may allow for substitutions, it is not recommended to skip physics entirely as it offers valuable concepts and skills relevant to computer science. Topics such as mechanics, electricity and magnetism, and thermodynamics are particularly relevant to computer science, and studying physics can enhance critical thinking and problem-solving abilities for future advancements in technology.
AfRoMaNn
Do I need physics in college if I am majoring in computer science?

Physics news on Phys.org

AfRoMaNn said:
Do I need physics in college if I am majoring in computer science?

It depends on the university. Different schools will have different requirements. While the core subjects are probably very similar between schools, other 'peripheral' requirements will be different.

Bottom line: check the requirements of the department you're considering.

i believe its an optional course but I've taken two physics courses in high school already and those were optional as well