Does a photo-resistor create an AC current?

In summary: This is not what the OP wanted to know. What he was asking is whether there is an AC current that can be produced with a frequency similar to the light hitting a photoresistor. Yes, a radio transmitter does that. Just put your magnet next to a cell phone while talking. What effects would you see? Probably nothing.
grahas
I'm a high school physics student. I want to do an experiment to see what happens when a high frequency alternating current goes through a magnet. To create the high frequency alternating current could a photo resistor do that for me? Does the photo-resistor create an alternating current with a frequency equal to the light hitting it?

Engineering news on Phys.org
No, a photoresistor can only change the value of its resistance depending on the light level, and the frequency of the light doesn't produce an alternating effect.

You could vary between lower current and higher current with a photo resistor and a battery, but that's not exactly what you're asking for (the current would never go negative). Furthermore, I don't even think photoresistors respond quickly enough to alternate the current at even moderate frequencies.

Is there any way to achieve an alternating current with a frequency in the range of light, via a mechanical or electrical device?

Not to my knowledge. The frequency of light is much, much bigger than, say, microwave frequencies.

Well, I'll post back the results of my experiment to close the thread, thanks for the help!

grahas said:
I'm a high school physics student. I want to do an experiment to see what happens when a high frequency alternating current goes through a magnet

Are you saying you want to use the magnet as a conductor? I don't think anything is going to happen. What would you like to see happen?

As for high frequency AC, your wifi network runs at 2.4GHz. Low frequency (red) light is 400,000 GHz.