Does the magnetic field decrease in a Zeeman slower as atoms slow down?

In summary, the conversation is discussing the use of a decreasing magnetic field in atom trapping. The goal is to increase the field so that less blue-shifted photons can fit into the energy gap between the excited and ground state of the atom. However, this is counter-intuitive as decreasing the magnetic field actually lowers the energy of the transition and brings the laser closer to resonance. The explanation for this is due to the selection rule and the behavior of the energy levels with respect to a magnetic field.
throneoo
Background: I have limited knowledge on QM and only know that magnetic fields split the energy levels of an atom

It seems counter-intuitive to me that as the atoms slow down along the tube the magnetic field strength decreases
http://es1.ph.man.ac.uk/AJM2/Atomtrapping/Zeeman-B-field.jpg

as far as I understand, the point is to increase the field so the less blue-shifted photons can fit into the energy gap between the excited and ground state , which is decreased by amplifying the effects of the splitting

Apparently it isn't the case, as shown by the figure. So where am I wrong?

Physics news on Phys.org
throneoo said:
blue-shifted photons
The laser is red-shifted from the atomic transition (including the magnetic field). The Doppler effect brings it closer to resonance, where scattering is strong. But as it slows down, the atom sees the laser light as being more and more red-detuned. Decreasing the magnetic field lowers the energy of the transition, such that the laser is again close to resonance.

DrClaude said: