Earth vs Space: Is a Falling Ball PULL or PUSH?

• Thread starter Deepak K Kapur
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pull Push
In summary: I think, the answer is:In summary, when a ball falls towards Earth, the actual action occurring is the presence of mass changing the geometry of space-time, causing the ball to follow a curved path. This can be explained by the theory of gravity, which suggests that the Earth and the ball attract each other due to their mass. However, different models of physics may offer different explanations for this phenomenon.
Deepak K Kapur
When a ball falls towards Earth, what is actually happenning...

Is the Earth PULLING the ball?
or
Is the space PUSHING the ball?

(Be assured that I can understand you. Before becoming a teacher of literature, I studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics upto graduation level. The previous thread was an attempt to find 'some reason in madness')

Physics news on Phys.org
Neither. In a vacuum, the ball is in free motion. If in the atmosphere, air is pushing it upward (slowing down its fall).

Deepak K Kapur said:

Is the Earth PULLING the ball?
or
Is the space PUSHING the ball?
In general relativity, neither. The presence of mass changes the geometry of space-time so that the "natural" direction of travel is not a straight line but a curve.
Deepak K Kapur said:
(Be assured that I can understand you. Before becoming a teacher of literature, I studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics upto graduation level. The previous thread was an attempt to find 'some reason in madness')
Having skimmed your previous thread, I suspect that you will need to study a lot of maths to follow any answer much more in-depth than either mine or wabbit's.