EE - Graduate School as Backup

In summary, it is okay to be upfront and say you are applying to the masters program instead of looking for a job, but it is better to be honest about your reasons.
bleach2015
I am an electrical engineering student who will be graduating in the spring. I had previously wanted to join the workforce after graduation, but the job search has not gone well for me... So now, I am thinking of applying to the masters program at my own school (which has a later deadline) if I cannot get meaningful employment.

The concern is that I have to find a professor right now and that I still want to go work if offered an EE related job. I am wondering on how I should approach the professor. Should I be straightforward saying this is a backup option for me, or should I not mention this at all? If the latter, would it look very bad for me to ditch before September if I had found a job? Fellow professors, do you have any advice on how you would like students to approach you for a masters?

Thank you very much.

Physics news on Phys.org
In all cases I am familiar with, when you are applying to grad school all you are doing is applying. You are not making a commitment to go if accepted. Likewise when you go for a job interview. Is there some reason why this may be different for your situation?

jason

jasonRF said:
In all cases I am familiar with, when you are applying to grad school all you are doing is applying. You are not making a commitment to go if accepted. Likewise when you go for a job interview. Is there some reason why this may be different for your situation?

jason

My department offers a graduate student scholarship and needs a professor to write me a reference letter. I believe most people usually pick their (future) supervisor to write it, so I don't want to ask them to write it and then later drop them a surprise by leaving.