Eigenvalues of Circulant matrices

In summary, circulant matrices have eigenvalues that are combinations of roots of unity due to their relationship with permutation matrices, companion matrices, and their generation through discrete Fourier transforms.
mr.tea
Hi,
I am studying about circulant matrices, and I have seen that one of the properties of such matrices is the eigenvalues which some combinations of roots of unity.

I am trying to understand why it is like that. In all the places I have searched they just show that it is true, but I would like to know how(obviously it's not a guess...).

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
It isn't clear what "how" means in this context but I'll give this a shot.

I assume all matrices are ##n## x## n##

note that any circulant matrix ##\mathbf S## can be written as follows

##\mathbf S = \sum_{k=0}^{n-1} s_k \mathbf P^k##
(you should check this for yourself)

where

##\mathbf P = \begin{bmatrix}
0 & 0 &0 & \cdots &0 & 1\\
1 & 0 &0 &\cdots &0 & 0\\
0 & 1 &0 & \cdots &0 &0 \\
0 & 0 &1& \cdots &0 & 0\\
0 & 0 &0& \ddots &0 & 0\\
0 & 0 &0& \cdots &1 & 0
\end{bmatrix}##

##\mathbf P## can be interpreted as a permutation matrix (that is associated with a connected graph). This means it is unitarily diagonalizable and all of its eigenvalues have magnitude 1.

##\mathbf P## can further be interpreted as a Companion matrix associated with ##p(x) = x^n - 1##, and hence its eigenvalues are nth roots of unity. Hence ##\mathbf P= \mathbf F \mathbf \Lambda \mathbf F^* ##, where ##\mathbf \Lambda## is a diagonal matrix that contains nth roots of unity, and ##\mathbf F## is the unitary version of the Vandermonde matrix, i.e. discrete Fourier transform matrix.