Electromagnetics problem

In summary, the displacement current is usually neglected in calculations for the electromagnetic effect of currents in a good conductor, even at microwave frequencies. The magnitude of the displacement current density is much smaller than that of the conduction current density. The governing differential equation for magnetic field intensity H in a source-free good conductor is also provided.
ECE302
Hello. I am an electrical engineer who is trying to improve my skills in several areas, one of which is electromagnetics.

I am using the book by David Cheng "Fundamentals in Engineering Electromagnetics" and doing some problems in that book.

I am having trouble with a problem in chapter 6.8 anyway here is the problem...

6.8) Calculations concerning the electromagnetic effect of currents in a good conductor usually neglect the displacement current even at microwave frequencies.

a) Assuming Er=1 and tau=5.70 x 10^7 (S/m) for copper, compare the magnitude of the displacement current density with that of the conduction current density at 100(GHZ)
b) Write the governing differential equation for magnetic field intensity H in a source-free good conductor.

can someone help me with a worked solution, i am just stuck and don't know exactly what to do. thx!

Physics news on Phys.org
a) The displacement current density is given by jd = (1/tau)*E. The conduction current density is given by jc = Er*E. At 100GHz, the magnitude of the displacement current density is jd = 5.7 x 10^7 A/m^2 and the magnitude of the conduction current density is jc = 1 x 10^9 A/m^2. Thus, the conduction current density is much greater than the displacement current density at this frequency. b) The governing differential equation for magnetic field intensity H in a source-free good conductor is given by curl(H) = -(1/tau)*E.

Hello there,