Electromagnetism and Clean Energy

In summary, this is a question about something that is not possible and may violate the laws of physics.)
slimrichy
Hey, currently I am a high school graduate going into college in the fall, but that isn't why I am here. There has been this question eating at the back of my head. Is there some way to induce an electromagnetic field, that could then induce a current in a wire or other some such medium, to power back into the field with enough left over to power of appliances? I understand that the question borders on perpetual motion machines, as well that may be what I am asking for. It is just that with my limited knowledge of physics I have some hope that there is a way to do this. If not, be so kind as to let me know and explain to me why. If there is, post a link to where I or others may find more information on this. Thank you for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org
You can certainly induce E-M fields using currents. And E-M fields can certainly induce currents. But you have to get the energy from somewhere.

Energy is conserved, that is one of the major tenets of physics. As such, in order to perform work, you have to supply the energy to do so. In other words, in order to drive a current through my wires, I will have to perform work. I can't make the currents move arbitrarily. You can perhaps look at the basic principles behind an electric generator: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electric_generator

If I understand your question correctly, the answer is yes, but remember that energy is conserved. You could certainly create a situation where you power an appliance and also partially replenish the original EM source fields. However, you could never fully replenish those fields because that would violate conservation of energy.