Engineering that deals with modern physics

In summary: I enjoy a combination of both aspects, having worked for a research lab as an undergraduate. In summary, This is a great idea that I am considering. Ideally though I'm not sure if I can take a double major in both mechanical engineering and physics. Additionally my mechanical engineering program doesn't offer many electives but instead chooses a list of electives that I can choose from. Unfortunately physics isn't one of them. I do plan on going into research though so I was also planning on finishing my bachelors in mechanical engineering and then doing a major in physics. Is this option doable or too difficult due to the difference in content? It might be a bit difficult, but it is definitely
Crazy_Diamond
Hello everyone,
I'm currently an undergraduate student who just completed his first year in mechanical engineering. The reason I'm making this thread is because I'm not satisfied with learning classical physics. I'd also like to learn and apply modern physics as well. Because of my dissatisfaction I've been wanting to switch to another field. Which engineering deals most closely with modern physics that can help my thirst for knowledge?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Why not just take some courses in modern physics? Unless you plan on doing research then no jobs I know of will be using modern physics or at least not to a great extent

One option is to study electronics and in particular quantum computing which surely uses modern physics.

caldweab said:
Why not just take some courses in modern physics? Unless you plan on doing research then no jobs I know of will be using modern physics or at least not to a great extent