How important is python for theoretical physics?

robotkid786
Hey guys, I'm a first year student studying theoretical physics in England.

My physics modules include a fair bit of python programming and I want to apply to ICGs cosmology PhD in England.

Can I escape learning python by choosing maths modules?

Physics news on Phys.org
Why are you trying to escape learning python?

Likes PhDeezNutz
Frabjous said:
Why are you trying to escape learning python?
I don't enjoy it. Just feels long to learn and uninteresting

robotkid786 said:
I don't enjoy it. Just feels long to learn and uninteresting
Do you know how to program? It should be a tool in your arsenal.

Likes DeBangis21, PhDeezNutz and russ_watters
Frabjous said:
Do you know how to program? It should be a tool in your arsenal.
No, thats what I'm saying. I don't like learning it because it's boring me. Idk if the cosmology phd will require this kind of programming and whether or not I can just pick it up when I'm actually doing it

I dont have any degrees of any kind but wouldnt programming (any language really) by incredibly useful for monte carlo simulation?

In fact, I can't really see how you can get by without this tool.

Likes PhDeezNutz
The meta issue is more important than the issue.

If you only want to learn the bare minimum, you will be unsuccessful as a physicist. Especially as a theorist, as your job will be to use ideas not previously part of the "toolbox". You need to seriously consider another line of work. ideally as quickly as possible. You won't like it, and you won't be any good at it.

Likes gwnorth, DeBangis21, russ_watters and 4 others
robotkid786 said:
No, thats what I'm saying. I don't like learning it because it's boring me. Idk if the cosmology phd will require this kind of programming and whether or not I can just pick it up when I'm actually doing it