Extension of Bezout's identity

In summary, Bezout's identity states that for any two coprime integers a and b, there exist integers x and y such that:ax + by = 1x and y can be efficiently computed by the extended Euclidean algorithmd is the smallest positive element of the set of all linear combinations of a and bevery natural number n>7 can be expressed in this way.
Onias
As a consequence of Bezout's identity, if a and b are coprime there exist integers x and y such that:

ax + by = 1

The extension states that, if a and b are coprime the least natural number k for which all natural numbers greater than k can be expressed in the form:

ax + by

Is a+b-1. (Where x and y are natural numbers)

I am trying to prove this extension. I have used C++ to test it for a few specific examples, but this does not cut the mustard. I need a rigorous proof. I looked up ideals and ring theory, but I am at a loss because I am doing a physics and applied maths degree, I have very little knowledge of pure mathematics. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Perhaps two parts:
a+b can be expressed that way
a+b-1 cannot

then the main third part

Well, any natural number greater than a+b-1, the first of which would be a+b

Sorry for the lenghty introduction but, either I'm misunderstanding your statement or it's simply not true:

Suppose gcd(a,b) = d, then Bezout's identity states that there are integers x and y, such that:

ax + by = d

In addition, x and y can be efficiently computed by the extended euclidean algorithm, and d is the smallest positive element of the set:

{ax + by: x,y integers}

All this is well-known.

Now, if a and b are coprime, then d = 1 and ANY natural number N may be written in that form (so the smallest natural with your property would be 1):

ax + by = 1 => a(xN) + b(yN) = N

On the other hand, if d > 1, then there are no consecutive naturals that can be written like that (only the multiples of d), because if: