Feeling Overwhelmed in My Second Year: Seeking Advice

• Other
  • Thread starter Limited_Dasein
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Year
In summary, this person is feeling discouraged and scared. They don't know what they are doing and they are questioning whether this is the right path for them. They are taking a computer programming class and they feel like they do not understand what the students are asking. They are also taking a physics class and they feel like they do not have a strong foundation.
Limited_Dasein
I'm in my second year, and I feel very discouraged and scared. I don't know what I'm doing, and I'm questioning whether this is right for me.

I was doing very well, acing everything, until last semester when I was juggling two jobs, one full time, and ended up in the hospital during midterms.

Due to some amazing professors, and a lot of very stressful nights I managed to get an A in everything except calc 2, which was a B+. I felt slightly better, this semester has started rough.

I am taking a computer programming class, and I literally have no idea what's happening. Students ask the professor lots of questions, and I have no idea what the students are asking. And in my physics class, there's only three of us, and they all already have bachelor's degrees in other fields.

Meanwhile I'm sitting here having just started calc 3, trying to understand what's being talked about. I understand the textbook, and aced the first exam, but I feel like I have such a superficial understanding of the general picture.

I feel like there's so much base foundation knowledge that I just don't have. I feel as if I'm drowning in all the little things I have to look up and try to learn on the fly, since my physics class has progressed way past where I'm at in my calculus class. And my programming class is moving along as if you already know how to program.