Field theories in 4 dimensions

In summary, according to Schwarz, we do not know if any field theory exists, in a mathematically precise way, in four dimensions.
kelly0303
Hello! I know this is a very general question (and I am really a very beginner in the field) so I am sorry if it is dumb, but here it goes. In Schwarz book on QFT, at the end of Section 14.4 (path integrals chapter) he says: "We do not know if QED exists, or if scalar ##\phi^4## exists, or even if asymptotically free or conformal field theories exists. In fact, we do not know if any field theory exists, in a mathematically precise way, in four dimensions". Can someone explain (preferably in layman terms) what does he mean? I heard so many times that QED is the most well tested physical theory with the best predictions and so on. So if QED is not mathematically consistent (is this what he means?), are all these amazing results (experimental confirmations) just a mix of good intuition and luck i.e. can it be that at a point they might just fail? Also in the very beginning (before the experimental confirmation) what motivated physicists to continue working on QED, if they were not even sure if their work was mathematically consistent, let allow describing the reality? Thank you!

Likes Michael Price, dextercioby and weirdoguy
Physics news on Phys.org
Another great book in this direction is

A. Duncan, The conceptual framework of quantum field theory, Oxford University Press, Oxford (2012).

Likes haushofer
In the Euclidean path integral approach we normally write something like:
$$\int{\mathcal{D}\phi\:e^{-S\left[\phi\right]}\:\mathcal{O}\left(\phi\right)}$$
where ##\phi## refers to any generic collection of fields and ##\mathcal{O}\left(\phi\right)## is some observable.

In general this is split up as:
$$\int{\mathcal{D}\phi\:e^{-S_{0}\left[\phi\right]}e^{-S_{I}\left[\phi\right]}\:\mathcal{O}\left(\phi\right)}$$
where ##S_0## is the free action and ##S_I## is the interaction part of the action.