Finding out how the different spacecrafts were made

• Thread starter DanielGutierrez
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Spacecraft
In summary, the conversation discusses a student's search for information on the evolution of materials used in spacecrafts, with a focus on surface materials. The student has found some information on materials used in Sputnik I and II (Aluminum 2024 T6) and Apollo 11 (easily found on NASA's website), but is having trouble finding information on Vostok I and VI (the first manned spacecrafts). The student asks for suggestions on where to find more information and is advised to look into US spacecrafts and the unconventional choice of polished steel for orbital re-entry in the case of Starship. It is also suggested to focus on the history of materials chosen for US spacecrafts to create a timeline of material choices and
DanielGutierrez
Homework Statement: Actually I'm in my last year of Material Engineer, and I have been asked to choose a topic for studying the evolution of the materials involved. With some emphasis on surface.
Homework Equations: ---

Hey everyone, I'm in my last year of Material Engineer, and I have been asked to choose a topic for studying the evolution of the materials involved. With some emphasis on surface. So I picked Spacecrafts, I tried to choose the "most important" ones in the history, and I have some problems to find which materials are involved and also the manufacture, maybe because of the space race...
So here is what I got,
For the first Sputnik I and II -> I found that was Aluminum 2024 T6 (http://asm.matweb.com/search/SpecificMaterial.asp?bassnum=MA2024T6)
Also, I found some sprays of EVA in the surface, and polish, for having a perfect mirror surface.
Apolo 11-> Easy on NASA web (https://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/nmc/ spacecraft /display.action?id=1969-059A)
But with Vostok I and VI -> First man and woman on space. I can't find anything.