Fluid Mechanics -- Volume flow rate

In summary, the flow rate of a fluid at an average velocity of 8 m/s in a pipe with a diameter of 3m can be calculated using the formula Q=v*A, where v is the velocity and A is the cross-sectional area. Another equivalent formulation is Q=v*(r2π), where r is the pipe radius. The result of 18π was obtained using this formula, representing the volume of fluid passing through the pipe per unit time.
Chris18
Hey guys. I could use some explanation since I am new to FM: So my problem is the following one: Fluid flows with an average velocity 8 m/s in a pipe with diameter 3m. What is the volume flow rate?
Now, I think the formula I got to use is Q= v.A Yet, I found my solution from a formula I found on the net where (1/4π * pipe diameter^2 * V). I got my result I need 18π but I just can't understand where I got this formula from and what does it mean! Would be grateful for any assist

Homework Equations

1/4π * 9 * 8 = 72/4.π or 18π

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Chris18 said:
1/4π * pipe diameter^2 * V)

Try putting the π above the divider line instead of underneath .

What is the formula for area of a pipe of given bore diameter ?

Last edited:
Chris18 said:
Hey guys. I could use some explanation since I am new to FM: So my problem is the following one: Fluid flows with an average velocity 8 m/s in a pipe with diameter 3m. What is the volume flow rate?
Now, I think the formula I got to use is Q= v.A Yet, I found my solution from a formula I found on the net where (1/4π * pipe diameter^2 * V). I got my result I need 18π but I just can't understand where I got this formula from and what does it mean!

Q=v*A where v is fluid velocity and A is cross-sectional area.

Restating your formula, Q=v*(D2π/4) where D is diameter. An equivalent formulation is Q=v*(r2π) where r is the pipe radius. The way I think of it is,